Astounding Album Alert: Animal Collective – Strawberry Jam

July 17, 2007

AnimalCollective-Band1

ninjajabberwocky and I used to disagree on the issue of whether or not Animal Collective was really all that good. The disagreement is now officially at an end: I have finally come around to seeing that they’re pretty damn good. The reason is their new album, Strawberry Jam, which is a revelation, sounding totally new and fresh. On a first listen, it’s pretty fucking phenomenal. I re-listened to their older stuff, and it still doesn’t really fully click with me, but this album is a pretty clear classic, I have to say. It’s a bigger, louder record than any they’ve done before. Yeah, that means that it can be a bit annoying in places… But by and large it miraculously isn’t. It’s a record that needs to be listened to.

Just thought I’d post that brief note. A review will probably follow from one of us later. We’re both really swamped right now, so less is getting written here than we would like, but it’ll pick up again in a couple days, I feel. Meantime, do yourself a favor and give this album a spin.

MP3: Animal Collective – Peacebone
MP3: Animal Collective – For Reverend Green

posted by nerdbound

3 Responses to “Astounding Album Alert: Animal Collective – Strawberry Jam”


  1. […] [download] Animal Collective – For Reverend Green […]

  2. francois Says:

    This group really has some repertoir – I first assumed it was a compilation of several artist. I even loved the third track which just consists of a single sound, although my old lady can’t stand it. Keep it up, I’ll follow you.

  3. francois Says:

    yeah, and the reverend green is terrific


Leave a Reply

